Logo Personare vertical

What do the houses mean in astrology

You can learn here the meaning of each of the 12 houses in astrology, their topics covered and the importance in your birth chart.


By Personare

Updated on

The astrological houses correspond to 12 divisions of the sky, established according to the place and time of birth of each person. They never change position and are bound by a zodiac sign. The presence of the signs and one or more planets in the houses gives them meaning.

Why there 12 houses in astrology

The zodiac is divided into 12 segments, each with a different meaning. The first six are called personal houses and the last six interpersonal houses.

They represent the forces we have in our lives. It’s like a journey that begins with your true self (1st house, your rising sign) and ends with your unconscious self (12th house).

Astrological Houses can be organized into three groups:

  • angular (1st, 4th, 7th, and 10th houses): they are our foundations and represent our actions.
  • successors (2nd, 5th, 8th, and 11th houses): they are our purposes and represent our stability.
  • cadent (3rd, 6th, 9th, and 12th houses): they are the transition points of the map and represent changes and adaptations that we need to deal with.

Astrological houses chart: what they mean

In this guide, you will be able to understand the topics and meanings of each Astrological House in the birth chart.

House 1 (rising sign): represents your personality, initiative, drive, temperament, and the impression people have of you.

House 2: represents the way your materialistic attitude, possessions, your ability to earn money, and your sense of worth and security.

House 3: represents the environment you live, the bonds between siblings, uncles, aunts, and cousins, short trips, communication and expression.

House 4: represents your home life, family roots, and the influence of you family of origin.

House 5: represents your hobbies, fun, pleasure, romances, how you love, your connection to sports, and how you educate your children.

House 6: represents daily life, routine, schedule, work, health, and habits.

House 7 (Descendant): describes your love, business and close relationships, and what you expect from your love partner.

House 8: is the way you deal with other people’s money, how you share your own resources and how you understand death.

House 9: represents philosophies, religions, higher education, long journeys, and your foreign experiences.

House 10: represents public life, status, profession, fame, prestige, and recognition.

House 11: represents groups, teams, acquaintances and your relationship with friends.

House 12: represents mental health, subconscious, worries, weaknesses that you hide within yourself, your secret blocks, and your ability to experience life.


Want to know more about yourself?

Get articles and forecasts straight in your inbox!

* By giving us your e-mail address you are agreeing to receive e-mails from us. But don't worry! We'll never, ever, spam you.



We from the Personare team are people in a constant search for knowledge about ourselves, the world and human relationships. Here we share accurate content with our more than 100 experts in different areas, such as Astrology, Tarot, Numerology and Holistic Therapies.